A Trip to Big Bad Wolf Jakarta 2017

Tja! I have been in hiatus for a while ago. I thought reading my old books would cure my books addiction. But it didn’t.

Ah right, if you’re a bookstagrammers or bibliophile (especially in Asia) you already know the Big Bad Wolf Bookfair ? Finally after I skipped that event twice, I could join that event yeayyy cheers!

What is Big Bad Wolf Bookfair ? And why is it so special among the other bookfairs? It’s because the books that being provided are imported books! And the price is very very pricey. For example, the Aristotele and Dante Discover The Secret of The Universe, its normal price was Rp 165-198 thousand. But its price in this bookfair was Rp 65 thousand only! This event also provide various genres, from boardbooks to reference books, so everyone may join this event!

Gosh, as a person who was book-obsessed I have been waiting for this! My family and I were departed at 7.00 from home. Arrived in jakarta at 9 sharp. Unfortunately, the book Fair was held at Tangerang, an elite city used to be a part of Jakarta province. The journey was really smooth, until …

We were family of 5 (plus my grandmother, so it’ll make 6 of us). No one likes books in my family. Only me. Before we arrive there was a quite big debate,which place is gonna be visited first. My mother and my sisters have no interest in books, so do my grandma also my father (he only read religious books). And the other problem, tangerang is more far from Jakarta (about 20 km or more). Since the book Fair was open 24/7, and Thamrin city (a clothing market we wanted to visit) wasn’t open all the time,we were agreed to visit Thamrin city first, park our car there,and then go to big bad wolf book Fair by taking public transportation.

Powerless, I agreed. I thought my father knew the way to the location. BUT HE DOESN’T. At least he knew the public transports.

From the thamrin city, we (my father and me) were taking a bajaj (if you haven’t know bajaj, better check it out) to the Tanah Abang Station. Honestly, it was not that far. Less than 3 km I think. But,  the number of cars and motors on the road is so fckn crazy. The total time used to reach the station was 1 HOUR. The bajaj driver encourage us to walk, after 1 hour passed. And then we walked about 500 m to the station.

People are everywhere. I realized that there was a market in front of the station. I questioned, where are these people came from? Why are they here? Leaving their hometown for a smug city…

And then, we reached the train station, wasn’t too long to wait the commuter train. So much comfortable here. For about 30 minutes, we reached the Serpong station. A blog said, we must cross the road and take an angkot (the blue one), and then get off in front of the ITC junction (?) I’m not really sure. Luckily, we asked a passenger and he said “if you want to go to that bookfair, better take an ojek. No public transportation will take you exactly in front of the place.” 

He was right. AND THE PRICE OF A NON-ONLINE OJEK IS SO EXPENSIVE GOSH. In Bandung, Rp 35 thousand will take you to Jatinangor. The ojek even didn’t loan us a fckn helmet!

We arrived at 13.30, I did skipped the lunch for the sake of joining this event. We entered hall 10 of ICE BSD convention center.

How was the bookfair? My my, I wish I was more healthy at that time.IT WAS SO HUGE. Haven’t start the hunting yet, I felt bellyache also tension in both of my feet.

Oh almost forgot, there are more than 5 rows of tables with books on top. A row contain at least 1-2 genres. Since it was the 4th day of the fair, some of the genres are already sold out especially boardbook, soundbooks, pop up books. And the piles weren’t really neat.

I only have 2 hours maximum to observe and pick any books that I like, I really want to explore more but no energy and time T_T. I only buy 5 books, and a box of postcards. Since I’m afraid I’ll not finished them all.  

*picture above: the queue  to the cash registers at 2 pm

So sad, the bookfair didn’t provide what I was looking for… we left at 3 pm. Took a cab to the Rawa Mangu station, and arrived to tanah abang. Left jakarta at 6 pm. Traffic is everywhere. 

Arrived in Bandung at 9.30 pm…

I’ll post the #bbwstash and the hunting results later. If you have any request or suggestion of what should I post next, feel free to comment below! See ya

Leave a Reply

